top of page
Search

Every Man's Heroin Nasal Spray for the Nose- How It Was Effective For Me?

I'm going to come clean about my addiction now before anyone suggests an intervention. Over-the-counter nasal spray is a drug to which I am addicted. Not because I have a particularly severe sinus condition, but because every time I lapse, the congestion returns with a force, making it difficult to breathe, sleep, and enjoy life in general.


A quick recap of last week's Grey's Anatomy: I have a medical ailment known as rhinitis medicamentosa. Unlike Allergic Rhinitis, which is caused by an allergic reaction to a common allergen, this ailment is brought on by the persistent use of over-the-counter nasal sprays for flying. The two most common active ingredients in over-the-counter nasal sprays are oxymetazoline and phenylepherine. The most prevalent active component (as shown in Afrin) is oxymetazoline, although phenylepherine is a close second (as found in 4-Way Nasal Spray).





It was at the beginning of May when I first encountered problems. After starting a rigorous weight training regimen, I was able to successfully reduce my body fat percentage and increase my muscle mass and strength. But after a combination of strenuous exercise, a packed work schedule, a flurry of "oh crap" house maintenance, and forgetting to take my blood pressure medication, I ended up in the hospital with a headache so severe that I thought my brain was going to burst.


My blood pressure was gradually lowered by a mixture of medications. On the other hand, I noticed that I was having another problem: I was still getting headache relieving spray. My regular blood pressure tests revealed that this was not the same headache I'd had before, but rather a pressure in my sinuses.


There was a consistent increase in discomfort immediately following nasal spray use, followed by a gradual easing throughout the day. After 12 or 13 hours, the discomfort would often subside. Congestion remained even after the headaches subsided. It was this evidence at www.sinusoothe.com that convinced me the nasal spray was to blame for my headaches.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page